Published on: January 25, 2022
Dr Sushma Bhatnagar & Dr Savita Butola

Dr. Sushma Bhatnagar has been re-elected as Indian Association of Palliative Care (IAPC) President for a three-year term. Professor and Head, Department of Onco-Anaesthesia and Palliative Medicine at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, Dr. Bhatnagar has been a IAPC member for the last 23 years. She has published over 334 papers and attended more than 300 conferences at home and abroad.

Dr. Savita Butola, Chief Medical Officer in North Tripura Border Security Force, has been re-elected Secretary while Dr. Deepa Kerketta Khurana, Safdarjung Hospital, New Delhi has been elected Treasurer.

Elections were held virtually between January 21 and 23.

Others elected as Central Committee members are Dr. Nishkarsh Gupta and Dr. Sarita Singh (North Zone); Dr. Kabindra Bhaghabati and Dr. Sanghamitra Bora (North-East Zone); Dr. Rita Rani and Dr. Umesh Kumar Bhadani (East Zone); P. A. Mujeeb Kuttamassery and Dr. Seema Rajesh Rao (South Zone) and Dr. Jayita Deodhar and Dr. K. V. Ganpathy (West Zone).

Congratulations to the new office bearers.

The IAPC, a registered Public Trust and Society, was formed in Ahmedabad in 1994 in consultation with the World Health Organisation (WHO) and the Government of India as a national forum to connect, support and motivate individuals and institutions involved in palliative care. Since then, it has been working as the national umbrella organization for palliative care in India. It has over 2,500 registered life members which includes individual, institutional and overseas members.

Comments are closed.